Hurricane Alley… by J. D. Longstreet

Banning the US Flag from Public Schools!

Banning the US Flag from Public Schools!
By: J. D. Longstreet
*************************

I must tell you, in the spirit of “full disclosure”, that I am a Southern American.  My roots go back to the seventeen hundreds in the Carolinas.  What you are about to read is a Southerner speaking, from the heart, about my people, my family, and my ancestors.

Every so often the frustration of listening to and/or reading an ill-informed commentary concerning the Southern American, and our history, which I KNOW is based on myth, untruths, and in some cases, just plain ignorance of our rich culture and heritage just causes my cup to run over and I take pen in hand and make an attempt to counter the misinformation.  This is one of those times.

 

My intent is not to cause anger in any reader.  That would be counter productive.  Consider this piece a “mirror”, if you will, in which Americans can see reflected not just what appears on the surface, but which lies beneath.

 

Please read on:

If you must ban a flag from American schools for racist connotations and for flying above slavery then you must ban the American flag! Yes, Ole Glory! The US flag, the Stars and Stripes, flew above slavery for 256 years. The Confederate Battle Flag NEVER flew over slavery. It was a battlefield emblem, not a national flag of the Confederacy… and was never recognized by the South as a national flag. You can credit Hollywood for that image.

 

 

 

 

Comments Off on Banning the US Flag from Public Schools!

